FDA Allows Processed Wheat to be Certified Gluten Free

CELIACS BEWARE! 

I’m a celiac who’s going to share with you from my personal educated non-professional point of view. No hidden agenda. No personal or monetary gains. Ready? 

I am a bonafide, blood tested, biopsied, muscle tested, ora read true blood celiac. As such, I hav a very true, tell all sign… which has taken my lifetime to get a real answer & solution, (&  finally put me at rest to stop freaking out about who I kissed in my hay day.) If I get into ANYTHING cross contaminated or hidden wheat, barely or rye gluten, I get these little clear pin head blisters inside my mouth. Just a few, nothing major; predominately just annoying. Let me tell you! Cherrios are NOT celiac friendly! Not an any level!

“But Amy, they say ‘Gluten Free’ right in the front of their boxes?!”

Ok, they do… put keep reading to learn how & why they can say that. You’ll be as shocked as me, I’m certain! 

I read labels. I literally have kids ask me in the grocery, “Mom! Why are we still standing here?” I’m a reader. But every once in a while, one slips by me… and today it did! 
I’m a sucker for licorice! Do you know how hard it is to find GF licorice on the shelves of your local grocer? Yeah? So you can imagine my impulse buy, right? 

DISCALIMER: I do not brand bash. This example just happens to have the brand so closely labeled to their own disclaimer. (I personally beg you to go check out their website & story & ingredients!) 

I’m very happy they are so open & forth coming. It is completely my mistake to have not read more closely. #TRUTH

Upon further review of their ingredients on their website, I’m very excited the creator also was diagnosed as a celiac & has altered their recipes to better meet the demands of all allergen customers on the mega rise. 

But FOR EDUCATION PURPOSES ONLY,  we are going to use their label. Savvy?

Look at the listed ingredients: 

“Sugar, glucose syrup,**rice flour, filtered water, modified starch, palm oil, citric acid, sodium citrate (acidity regulator), natural flavor, strawberry juice from concentrate, licorice root extract, black carrot extract, salt, coconut oil, camauba wax.”

They look completely innocent, right? 


You expect a little processed something in your candy. It won’t be 100% all God made products. 

But imagine my shock when the “**rice flour” was listed as “**Contains wheat that has been processed to allow this food to meet the Food and Drug Adminiatration (FDA) requirements for gluten-free foods.”

WAIT! WHAT? Why is my rice flour containing wheat?! 

Did you know that the FDA allows companies to voluntarily use the “Certified GF” label as long as they follow the labeling regulations & guidelines? 

The FDA doesn’t regulate the actual ingredients of every food made. They predominately regulate what the consumer has the right to know based on labeling. They’re more of the “don’t get sued for false advertising” advisory board to companies & (rightfully so) over conscern customers. 

So check out the Gluten free labeling regulations: http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/Allergens/ucm362880.htm

“How is ‘gluten-free’ defined in the rule?

In general, foods may be labeled ‘gluten-free’ if they meet the definition and otherwise comply with the final rule’s requirements. More specifically, the final rule defines ‘gluten-free’ as meaning that the food either is inherently gluten free; or does not contain an ingredient that is: 1) a gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat); 2) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or 3) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food. Also, any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food must be less than 20 ppm.”

You catch that last bullet point?  A small amount to a celiac can be harmful 😦 So here I sit nursing two pinhead blisters wondering what I ate… and here’s the label clearly telling me I got into something cross-containmented 😦

I mean, if this was just 2 ppm of radiation we’d have major issues to the general public, right? It’s kind of how it feels to a true celiac. Tomorrow means aches & pains, nausea, & potentialy a rubber band headache … and a psycho mean whosebeast …. because I ate the whole bag! (Don’t judge! Haters to the left, please?) 

*UPDATE! It meant sliding down stairs on my one socked foot because if I have any Gluten anywhere… I’m a wreck for a few days – to a week! However, the bruises are minimal! (Laugh! It was funny!) 

READ YOUR LABELS! Look for the astric (****) & back away from the Cherrios! 

Leave a Reply

